Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Strung Out To Die Book Tour: Meet Willow


strungouttodietour


Image 

I was perfectly content rolling around in my little piece of the mud pie, nudging my way into the crowded feeding through, while spending most of my day sunning my voluptuous curves in the afternoon sun. 

One day that all changed. It was a strange day. All of my friends were starting to disappear, one-by-one the farmer man who took such good care of us (and I mean he really did feed us a lot!) was trying to get everyone in this big truck with a cage looking thing. I walked around taking a good look to see just what was going on up there, but all I could hear was the my friends snorting and crying trying to get out of that big cage. 

I ran! I ran as fast as my little hooves would carry me, diving head first into my little mud hole 

Aww, you’re alright.”  

I must’ve not stuck my butt far down enough into the mud, because the farmer tapped my tail. I dug deeper, trying to cover my backside, but he only chuckled. 

“I’ve got other plans for you.” He grabbed me up and took me over to the water trough, cleaning me off really good. I could even see my little dark spots that all my girlfriends were jealous of. I had to admit that I was the pretty girl there. 

“That’s her?” The man asked with sarcasm dripping from his lips. He was leaning up against his old rickety truck thinking he must be looking good. His eyes narrowed as he got a little closer to me. 

Groinkgroink! I tried to wiggle my way out of the farmer’s arms. 

“Whatever. If it makes Holly happy, then I guess I take her.” The guy took out something out of his pocket and I leaped out of the farmer’s arms toward the man. I was sure he was taking out one of those tasty treats the farmer always gives me. “Whoa!” The man caught me, but his knees buckled and he tumbled to the ground.  

“Well, look at you two.” The farmer took off his John Deere hat and smacked his leg as he bent over in laughter as I sat right on top of that guys stomach as he was flat on his back in the dirt. 

He pushed me off, and jumped up, dusting himself off. There were a few more words exchanged between the two and I sat nice and still at their feet, waiting for that treat. The joke was on me. The guy picked me up, making a comment about my weight, and it wasn’t nice, but I ignored him. He didn’t know that I was the prettiest girl there. Then he put me in his dirty old truck! 

My hooves hooked on the window sill as I watched the farmer disappear as the man drove his truck faster and faster. He didn’t say a word to me and I was scared. He stopped the truck out in front of a little house and tooted his horn. 

“Come on out here Holly Harper!” He yelled. 

“What’s all the yelling…Oh my gosh!” The woman squealed just like I can and ran over to the truck. And she was even a curvy girl like me. “You are the sweetest little piggy I have ever seen! Your name is Willow! 

She didn’t have a problem picking me up. I did get a little dizzy as she twirled me around, but I like her. In fact, I loved her! And I loved my name! 

Life was pretty good with Holly and what’s his name, until one night when what’s his name must’ve done something really bad. Holly grabbed me up and we left, never to return. 

She was sad and cried a lot, but I tried to cuddle up to her as much as I could. After all, she did like to snack and I got to clean up her crumbs. But life became great again when we moved into a cottage by this big lake and Holly opened a store where people come in to make jewelry. 

Those little round things they string up didn’t taste so bad. They were a little crunchy and Holly yelled at me telling me that glass beads weren’t good for my stomach, but they tasted good to me! 

Until one day when we went to the shop and beads were all over the place. I hurried around snorting up all the little round goodies that I could. They were the expensive tasty kind, as Holly referred to them. 

I took my snout and nudged the man that was sleeping on the shop floor, but he wouldn’t move.  

GroinkgroinkI pushed him harder. I didn’t want to bother Holly to wake him up because she was talking to the local police officer, Noah Druck, who had stopped by the shop to visit. 

“Oh my God!” Holly came over to see what I was doing. “She left Noah Druck out!” 

Evidently the man wasn’t sleeping. He was dead! And Holly’s finger prints were all over the murder; after all, he was strangled with those expensive cat eye beads that are so tasty.  

But Holly didn’t do it! I was with her the whole time. And now it’s up to me to help figure out who was being mean to my Holly Harper!

*****************************************************************

 

Holly Harper's life is finally getting back on the right track after her divorce from "what's his name." She and a group of divorcees have formed a strong bond plotting creative ways to get back at their exes and created a self-help group known as The Divorced Divas where their meetings are held in Holly's bead store, The Beaded Dragonfly.

It’s no secret that Holly’s ex husband, Sean Harper, and the wealthiest bachelor in Swanee, Doug Sloan, don’t get along because Sean is constantly fixing all of Doug’s shoddy handy man work. Plus all the Divas would love to get their claws in some of Doug’s money.

When Doug ends up dead on the floor of The Beaded Dragonfly with a string of cat eye beads around his neck, it’s up to Holly to figure out whose framing her.

Image of Tonya Kappes

Tonya is an Amazon Movers and Shakers, and International bestselling author. She writes humorous cozy mystery and women's fiction that involves quirky characters in quirky situations.

Splitsville.com, the first novel in the Olivia Davis Mystery Series, is a double finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories.

Carpe Bead 'em is the winner in Amazon's eFestival of Words in the Women's Fiction/Chick-lit Category.

Become a member of Tonya's STREET TEAM! It's a gathering place of readers who love Tonya Kappes novels and Tonya gives away prizes! To sign up for Tonya's STREET TEAM, newsletter, view book trailer, and upcoming news, check out Tonya's website, Tonyakappes.com.


12 comments:

  1. That Willow! She enjoys the lime light!

    ReplyDelete
  2. What a great way to start a series!!! Love it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Nancy! I'm so in love with these Divas! They get themselves into some big messes.

      Delete
  3. Love it! I can't wait to read the book and meet Willow. She sounds delightful :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds like another great book from Tonya Kappes. Can't wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aww....Jean you are so sweet! Thank you so much!

      Delete
  5. Great intro - Look forward to reading about the Divas and Willow..

    ReplyDelete
  6. Can't wait to read this : and I love little pigs like willow!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I loved the excerpt! This book sounds great like all your other books! Can't wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete