Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Book Review: Bailey, No Ordinary Cat by Erin Merryn


For fans of Grumpy Cat and Cats on Instagram there's a new cat in town—Bailey, No Ordinary Cat—of the Facebook name, is a special cat with a growing fan base, garnering over 2 million views on Ellen's Instagram and videos that have been shared by Good Morning America, ABC News, CBS News, and more. 

What makes Bailey more addictive than catnip? In addition to his adorable expressions and his hilarious, heartfelt antics, Bailey has a penchant for doing things that are characteristically uncatlike—things like taking bubble baths (and enjoying them), sitting attentively in a chair and being read to (for hours), getting a "pet"-icure, and his unending patience while co-raising his human siblings Abby and Hannah (yes, there is photographic evidence that Bailey helped with potty-training).

If you have a cat you know how independent they are. Bailey, No Ordinary Cat celebrates the unique quirky spirit of this unforgettable feline through four-color photographs and captions from the voice of Bailey himself. Cat lovers will be delighted to peek into the life of their favorite celebrity cat with the huge eyes, huge heart, and huge personality—and an ever-growing following.


The opening lines of this book really say it all: Once in a great while, a pet enters our lives, enchants us, and changes everything. A giant soul inside of a tiny creature who most assuredly was sent to us for reasons beyond our understanding. For author Erin Merryn and her 3 little girls, Bailey was that pet. It's impossible to look at Bailey's precious little face and not feel a smile to come to your heart. The love, patience and devotion he showed to his family is captured in every single picture in this darling little book. It's so sad to think that Bailey had to run off for the Bridge before his story was published, but his family has recently adopted a kitten named Carrot, and anyone who follows them on social media can see that Bailey sent Carrot to mend their broken hearts and carry on his legacy. 


I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review. This post contains affiliate links.

12 comments:

Rene said...

I'm so glad you like this book. It sure is heartwarming, and I'm happy that Carrot has come into their lives.

Patricia T said...

Thanks, Melissa and Mudpie. That cover is purr-ecious!

Timmy Tomcat said...

We love reading about real life cats and how amazing they are. Thanks for a great review and I think Dad ordered it to read to us already. You are the best Mudpie

The Menagerie Mom said...

I really need to read this, but at the same time it breaks my heart to read it knowing that he is gone. I've actually been following Bailey on social media for some time, and finding out he made the journey to the Rainbow Bridge was beyond saddening. How wonderful that Bailey sent Carrot to his family, though. Bailey's book is certainly on my to-read list.

Eastside Cats said...

I put this on my to-read list, and found them on FB too. Thanks!

Brian said...

Sounded good until the Bridge part, we just don’t do sad well.

World of Animals, Inc said...

This sounds like a great read. We will start to follow Bailey on social media. We are sad to read that Bailey went to the bridge but hopefully Carrot can continue the legacy of Bailey. Thanks for the share. Have a wonderful day.
World of Animals

pilch92 said...

I love this book. Bailey was a good cat.

Cathy Keisha said...

For a sec I thought there was a new Bailey the Boat Cat.

meowmeowmans said...

This sounds like a really great book, Mudpie and Melissa. But we were very sad to hear Bailey went to the Bridge before it was published. :(

Erin the Cat Princess said...

Oh my, I love the soundof this but I feaar tears will flow at bed time. Thanks for sharing what sounds like a must read story of a truly loving and special feline life.
Purrs
ERin

Three Chatty Cats said...

Sounds like Bailey was one cool cat.